Archinect
anchor

recent grad/no job limbo...

I graduated almost a month ago and so far I haven't had any luck finding a job/internship. I'll all comes down to either a) don't have enough experience; or b) I don't have a car (to get to the jobs in suburbia.

I graduated with a 3.60 GPA; I got one of the best grades/crits in my last studio, and I won an honorable mention in the last design awards. But none of this seems to matter, only that I know CAD seems to matter.

Am I just being whinny about not having a job a month after? Or should I just apply for grad school and look for internships when I'm in school again?

Jun 16, 06 2:27 am
binary

i hear that...... i just turned 30 and you would think that me being a professional model builder/licensed builder/some arch office experience/design-build experience/furniture/interiors/shop manager....etc........ and i can't find a job because of some bullshyt.....

makes me think that the industry just want's robots and and creators...

i was gonna go to grad school and got accpeted already but i figured why spend 50k plus if i'll be in the same boat when i get out......

my sister works for the post office and she makes 26 bucks an hour plus full benefits/vac/overtime/etc.......

makes u wonder about the standards of the field and how firms want highly experienced or cadd monkeys...... no middle ground at all.....

Jun 16, 06 3:01 am  · 
 · 
binary

typo....... want's robot and no creators.......

Jun 16, 06 3:03 am  · 
 · 
Gloominati

Sometimes if you have trouble finding a summer intern position right after graduation you'll have better luck around August or September as all the summer help starts to move back to school. Keep trying. Also try calling or emailing the places that rejected you in May or June a little later in the summer to let them know you're still looking and are available for the fall.