Archinect
anchor

Boston Job Scene?

mfrech

I graduated university last spring w/ a B. Arch, and upon returning home to the Boston area, showered my cover letters, resumes, and work samples over the many firms located in and around the city. I finished w/ a solid gpa, high studio marks, portfolio awards, and summer construction experience. There seemed to be few opportunities for interviews, and when I received them, I was evaluated primarily for my cad skills, which were somewhat limited (and professionally-untested) as I didn't have any firm experience using the program.

No dice.

I was contacted by a modular housing firm and started there as a drafter/designer, (a little reluctantly) back in the fall. The work is fast-paced, very technical, and more than a touch mind-numbing. Though it can be enjoyable, there is not an opportunity for progress on the IDP. So, I scour websites such as the BSA's classifieds, craigslist and even archinect looking for entry-level positions, and they are pretty damn rare, and cold-contacting firms usually results in demands for someone with greater experience.

What I'm asking I suppose, is if there is anyone with experience working in Boston that might know some particular information about the job scene in Boston--is it really as stagnant as it appears, or is someone relatively fresh out of school truly useless?

And in general, aside from gleaning as much knowledge and experience from my present office, if anyone has advice/insight/ridicule/cliches they'd like to proffer about what I could be doing now to improve my marketability or professional direction, I'd much appreciate it.

May 9, 06 12:00 pm

what i've found is that the scene in Boston is best parsed with the help of someone who knows it intimately.