Archinect
anchor

Advice Needed!

DJ

I am a young architect (30) and need some advice. i am somewhat new to my firm (8 months) and am finding myself butting heads alot with this arrogant "professor type" guy who's the same age, but thinks he owns the firm's young voice, as well as this small town's design voice. He is very outspoken, annoying - everytime I listen to him I begin rolling my eyes cause all he does is spew garbage like a wannabe intellectual prof.
He continually ignores me when I try to bring new ideas into the discussion. It's come to the point at which I've given up trying, I'm so fed up with his bs. and ignoring my ideas seemingly on purpose (looking down on me). I'm thinking he feels threatened, does that sound right? He has more of an intellectual background (masters), but I have a much better professional background, having worked at two large internationally important firms.
Thoughts on how to handle this situation? (serious responses please - I know I could go meet him in a dark alley and beat the crap out his nerdy ass)
Thanks archies!

Jul 9, 04 1:47 pm
Mason White

depends on how much you like the job overall and, more specifically, the project you are working on? could you be transfered to another project? if not, could you tolerate him until the project is over? or could you juist pour yourself into the work, and state your case by following through your ideas before pitching them to mr. professor?

bottom line is that it is not worth fighting; arrogant people don't and won't change for one person. I say tough it out, if you like the job/project, but dont hold back your opinion. just voice it and if he has a problem with your opinions, just shrug your shoulders and continue to explain yourself. be confident, competent, and yet restrained. dont let it get to you. i mean, who the hell is he, right?

Jul 9, 04 2:38 pm  · 
 · 
J3