Archinect
anchor

For all the Canucks out there....

bowling_ball

I've been researching and researching Canadian arch. schools, but still have a few questions that have so far gone unanswered. I've narrowed my "top three" down to UBC, UCalgary, and UManitoba, all for different reasons. Staying here in Ontario is not an option, since nothing about Carleton is appealing (at all) and I refuse to live in Toronto. I did for six years, and that was long enough!

Anyway, I have a diploma in Industrial Design from OCAD, but if I go back for another year, I can upgrade that to a Bachelor's degree.

Because my background isn't in architecture, I'm wondering if that's a major hurdle to being accepted into an M.Arch program. Some schools want non-arch. background applicants to do do a "pre-professional" or "pre-Master's" degree at their school, if the applicant doesn't already have a B.Arch. Which I don't.

Is it possible/likely to be accepted DIRECTLY into M.Arch with a slightly different background? The time required at the different schools seems to vary widely, and I wanted to hear from the Canadians who've gone this route (or can at least help me out with this query).

I've contacted the various schools, but still waiting to hear back from them.

Apr 14, 06 11:08 pm
bRink

I graduated from UBC, you need the bachelors degree to apply, but there were people from all kinds of backgrounds... business, engineering, one girl who was half way through a phd in chemistry... music, anthropology, literature... art history...