Archinect
anchor

Drawing skills necessary?

sinseer

I am in my second year of college and am considering architecture as a career that would complete me.(yes, just like the movie) I don't have much of a freehand drawing ability. My question is this...What is the likelihood that my lack of freehand drawing skill will curtail my dreams of becoming an architect? Also, if this skill is not a top priority, will it at least be harder for me to succeed in this field?

Mar 27, 06 4:23 pm

walter gropius couldn't draw very well.

Mar 27, 06 4:35 pm  · 
 · 
not_here

drawings skills can be learned.
you should know that.

sketching is what it's all about.

Mar 27, 06 4:46 pm  · 
 · 
grid

It's important to be able to get your ideas on paper.

Mar 27, 06 4:51 pm  · 
 · 
sinseer

thank you all for the input. i have to now look inward and evaluate

Mar 27, 06 10:56 pm  · 
 · 
sporadic supernova

not necessary ... but can be handy ...

Mar 27, 06 11:45 pm  · 
 · 
swisscardlite

most 'drawing' is done on computer now....

but like the others said, drawing can be a useful tool to express your ideas...watercolor is another too (steven holl).

it doesn't necessarily have to be 'realistic'...drawing something too realistic can limit your ideas and experimental attitude.

Mar 27, 06 11:59 pm  · 
 · 
waxwings

rem can't/doesn't draw -but that means nothing

it won't limit your chances of success.
your drawings may never be purdy, but you'll pick up an ability to think with a pen in your hand. the computer thing is really more of a back and forth between scratch and the screen.

actually, the non drawers (student entering school with no visual arts background) sometimes develop interesting drawing styles.

Mar 28, 06 12:45 am  · 
 · 
rizzdizzl