Archinect
anchor

Getting a job w/o an architecture degree aka akward interviews

pomoinmono

Hello all ---

I'm about to graduate and I have a somewhat useless degree (not in arcitecture obviously) but I want to get a full-time architecture job (or in a related field). Because of the nature of my education, I think I would work best in a collaborative, more conceptual based environment. I have work experience, I've worked full-time over the summers and part-time during the year for the past 2 years at an multidisciplinary design firm. I did arch. and graphic design work there. My question is, where can I find a list or directory that lists the type of firms I'm interested in? I want to stay in NYC (where I am now). AIA certainly doesn't list "research nad competition" as one of their firm types so I don't know what to do. Can you guys suggest a bunch of places to help me with this? I'd really appreciate it. Maybe I should just look at the Columbia speakers calendar.

Thanks

Mar 25, 06 1:20 pm
garpike

I don't know about a list, but a good start is the jobs link here on Archinect.

Mar 25, 06 1:24 pm  · 
 · 
comb

also: Career Center at aia.org

Mar 25, 06 6:12 pm  · 
 · 
Barrett
eighty offices
PSA Publishers NY Architects

also maybe check the AIANY award submissions and winners

Mar 25, 06 6:21 pm  · 
 · 
LabRat451