Archinect
anchor

Internship in JDS Architect

Hello,

I got an offer to do internship in JDS Architect in Brussel but unfortunately it's unpaid. I want to ask is it common in europe about unpaid intern? I am a fresh graduate from architectural engineering from Indonesia and I thought that fresh graduate intern will get salary but unfortunately there's no salary.

I think, Brussel has high cost of living and it will be difficult for me to get the visa because I  have unpaid internship. So I am thinking to find funding for my internship, but it is a bit difficult :(

So I ask you, how's the work environment in JDS? do we learn and get lot of skill there?

thanks.

Jan 15, 12 1:06 am
RED_M

JDS, BIG and that kind of "ubertrendy" offices offer unpaid internships. It is not common in Europe to be unpaid if you intern in a more traditional star-system office (even at OMA you will be paid a small stipend) or in something more corporate.

Jan 15, 12 7:39 pm  · 
 · 
nicolasmjlee

Hi Fani,

Congrats on your offer! I am also interested in working for European firms such as JDS and I am wondering if you could tell me how the application works? (How many pages was your portfolio? Did you have reference letters? Were interviews conducted through skype?) I would really appreciate your help and insight!

Jan 16, 12 11:20 am  · 
 · 

@RED_M thanx for the info. OMA is paid internship but I think it's very difficult to get the offer since it's a starchitect. In Europe there's a erasmus program which give scholarship/grant to do internship abroad but in my country, I haven't found any info about the grant.

@leen thanx,but right now I'm still trying to find allowance to support my life during internship :(
Btw, i just send online portfolio,CV,and motivation letter. They don't have an interview. What is your email? I will send you my online portfolio link.

Jan 16, 12 10:40 pm  · 
 · 
TheMasterBuilder