Archinect
anchor

Licensure & Immigration

wannabe

Hello....
I am a student with F-1 visa (which means not a US citizen)....
I am just thinking ...when I do the internship for three years, which type of immigrant status I will fall into?
Or the archi frim who are accepting me as an intern need to sponsor me or sth?.....Can it be later lead me to Permant Resident Status or Citizenship?
Do you know anyone who has the same situation as I do?

I really want to live in the States..I am looking for more opportunities which help me gurantee life in US....
Any ideas or thoughts?? Thanks!!!!

Feb 27, 06 8:37 am
quizzical

Let me start by saying that I'm no expert on immigrations issues, although I do deal with them from time to time in my work. Several thoughts:

1. Rightly or wrongly, after 9/11 the INS really tightened up on immigration matters and it is becoming very, very difficult for non-US passport holders to gain authorization to work in the US. There are many, many more applicants than there are visas authorized by the Congress.

2. US immigration law is very, very complex and you really need to employ the services of an experienced immigration lawyer to guide you through the maze if you want to pursue this course of action. I would not recommend making any decisions at all based on advice you garner from archinectors.

3. I do not believe obtaining an architectural license in the US would provide you with any particular advantage when it comes to obtaining permanent resident status ... there are other criteria that must be met.

U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services has a very good website ... I recommend that you spend some time there to find answers to your specific questions.

Feb 27, 06 11:43 am  · 
 · 
vaishjais

u will have to check if u need a visa status change....for internship of three years...

it can lead u to permanent residence status if ...u or ur company files
a GC process...which takes normally five years to be aproved....after initiation