Archinect
anchor

seeking direction ....

this_guy

I am a second year arch student who hasn't left New England my entire life. I go to school in Boston and live an hour away. I feel like I am not seeing enough of the world (or the country) to make a decision about what I want to do and where I want to go with life. I really enjoy architecture and I know it is what I want to as a career, but I feel I need to experience life out of my comfort zone to really grow. I want to transfer to a school in a different state or setting or environment so I can see new things and soak in a new atmosphere. Where are some places you guys would recommend to transfer, or should I transfer at all.... Thanks...

Feb 23, 06 11:16 pm
myriam

There is no better time of your life to try living in a wholly different place than during college. At no time is it any easier or more immediately and obviously rewarding.

Feb 23, 06 11:31 pm  · 
 · 
frisbee pirata

I had seldom been outside of New England until a year ago when I transferred to Los Angeles. It's been an absolute blast... New England is not where it's at. Not at all.

Feb 23, 06 11:44 pm  · 
 · 

Or you could do summer programs at various places. Study abroad, go on a road trip, play it by ear.

Feb 24, 06 1:06 am  · 
 · 
liberty bell

myriam is right on. College is such an easy time to pack up everything you own and try someplace new. If you hate it there, you'll know you only have to stay for a limited time: until you get the degree!

Though I hate the thought of yet more people moving to the western states, that's really probably the place to go. Maybe look for a school that has a European study abroad program in the spring semester, so you can do the program then spend the following summer travelling the rest of Europe.