Archinect
anchor

Potentially bringing in a client

lush

I know that this has been discussed before, and I tried to look but wasn't successfull.

I might potentially be able to bring in a pretty decent sized project (albeit with a tight budget) to my new firm. How do I negotiate with them so that I get a good deal- I want to be involved in every stage of design and also the discussion process- is this unreasonable? what kind of monetary benefits can I ask for? I am a junior architect (unliscenced) and started working at this firm just this week.

Maybe someone remembers the last time this was discussed and can point me to a link??

Thanks!

Feb 23, 06 11:26 am

They'll probably be more receptive to negotiating your involvement on the project than negotiating money. That's good for both - they don't have to pay you tons, and you get a great experience from it.

I'll try looking for the discussion.

Feb 23, 06 12:04 pm  · 
 · 

Here ya go. It turned out not to be a very long discussion, though.

http://www.archinect.com/forum/threads.php?id=P16626_0_42_0_C

Feb 23, 06 12:09 pm  · 
 · 
lush

Thanks rationalist!

Feb 23, 06 12:31 pm  · 
 · 
e

yeah, i agree with rationalist especially if the project is on a tight budget. if the project was going to bring tons of money, you would have a bit more leverage, but it sounds like the project might not be that profitable to start with. i'd definately say i wanted to be involved. depending on how well you know the client, you may be able to get them to request you involvement too. good luck

Feb 23, 06 12:32 pm  · 
 · 
Rim Joist