Archinect
anchor

Designing a friends dream home...

design geek-girl

A friend has just bought a couple of acres. She wants to build her dream house. She wants me to design it. Sweet. The problem is that I'm not an architect. I'm an interior design student with a desire to become an architect. How do I go about doing this? Do I just have an engineer sign off on my drawings? Can I just hand the dwgs off to the GC and he'll take care of it? I'd even be willing to work with an architect, but, I doubt they'd want to work with me. Also, at the end of the day, I'd like this to be a portfolio piece. I guess, I'm just looking for a little advice. Thanks in advance.

Jul 1, 04 10:17 am
betamax

i don't have much experience with this situation but i wouldn't ever recommend to "hand the dwgs off to the GC". that just reaks of bad idea. i believe that in most states anybody can design a house up to a certain square footage and build it. and i believe you can do so w/o an architect's stamp. i'm not sure about that last part though. however...i don't believe it is that difficult to get a registered architect to stamp the drawings for a certain fee if it is needed. basically, design the house, do aaaaaaallllllllllll those constuction drawings, and get a registeredd architect to check and stamp it. i think the kicker comes when you want to actually build it. getting permits and stuff. where i come from in order to have a permit to build you have to have licensed plumbers, electricians, etc. signatures on the set of construction documents as well.

this is basically my inexperienced take on the situation....but i think i am getting to the right idea.

Jul 1, 04 10:53 am  · 
 · 
design geek-girl

Thanks a lot for the input, captain.

Jul 1, 04 11:15 am  · 
 · 
el jeffe