Archinect
anchor

Summer interns with full time experience

fminor

Graduate Students Looking for Summer Internships

I am a Penn student with 4 years of professional experience at architecture firms looking for summer internships in CHI/NYC/PHILLY....

I am not looking for firm names, I know the good ones, what I don't know is what its like to work at them. If you were a summer intern at a firm that provided relevant experience, help me out. If all you did was build models please don't respond.

Feb 10, 06 1:46 pm
Living in Gin

I've worked for firms in all three cities. What are you trying to find out?

Feb 10, 06 2:08 pm  · 
 · 
fminor

I would just like to know what places you, or anyone would recommend to someone to intern for a summer. Did u work at any design build places in philly?

Feb 10, 06 3:35 pm  · 
 · 
Living in Gin

I worked for Kitchen & Associates in Collingswood, NJ while attending classes at Drexel... The particular project I worked on was nice, but it wasn't typical for the office. They do lots of neo-traditional assisted living facilities, education work, chain retail/food service, and light industrial... Decent stuff, but nothing spectacular. They don't use AutoCAD except for a few projects... When I was there, they were using ARRIS but making a transition to ArchiCAD. Office culture was generally close-knit and friendly, although like most firms, it sometimes has a dark underbelly. I don't think they do design-build.

Feb 10, 06 4:29 pm  · 
 · 
alexan

i think it would be nice to build models all day for a paycheck.

Feb 10, 06 9:38 pm  · 
 · 
fminor

r u kidding me? building models is for non architecture undergrad majors? No one cares what u people do.

Feb 11, 06 3:12 am  · 
 · 
fminor

That sounded bad, let me clarify: