Archinect
anchor

Is there any hope for someone like me?

Bennythejetr

So I graduated in 2006 with a Bachelor's in Architecture from USC. Over the next two years, I worked 8 months with a civil engineer, then 1.5 years with a residential architect. At the end of 2008, I was laid off due to company losing work and not having enough projects.

It's coming up on 3 years since I've had full time work in architecture, besides the occasional freelance work.. I feel  everyday that passes by, the chances of me getting a job are less and less. I have experience, but it seems like it's just not enough for what employers are looking for.

Now, I'm just getting by working as a public safety officer (security guard), and feel like my 5 year investment in school was a waste.

So what are the odds I can find work again, and is there anything specifically I can do besides wait and hope for things to get better?

Thanks

Nov 30, 11 6:43 pm
CitizenWalker

The market is tough out there - everyone is fighting off tremendous competition while looking for opportunities. Even when those opportunities come and you do get interviewed for a position, it is somehow disturbing to know that there may be 20 other people the firm is interviewing for the same position. 

Here are my two cents -