Archinect
anchor

patience

iused2bgood

So im curious if anyone has any good advice for my situation.

I have about 5 years experience, I am unlicensed but heading in that direction. I have worked for many well known firms across the country, but i have found myself at a small( 10-20 employees)firm in the North East.

The people are generally nice, the work atmosphere is pretty good, but my issue is the work load is non-existent. I have been here for almost a 6 months now and have only been fielding pick up jobs, and quick I forgot things at the last minute. The firm in general is slow, but when i was hired I was lead to believe things would really be going somewhere and I was going to be running projects and such. Of the projects i have been apart of I am usually left the last to know about meetings, changes or ideas.

I have written several emails to the various partners expressing my concerns with no replies, on a daily basis when a partner is in the office( which is rare) i ask if there is work to do...when im not given a quick 1 hour cad task the answer is generally a shrug.

so my question is this:

am I not being patient enough?

Am I over estimating my skills?

how long should I wait before looking for other serious work?
( The catch to finding another position is I am concerned it will reflect poorly on my resume that I have bounced around so much).

Jun 22, 04 12:58 pm
TED

it sounds like why bother because they dont. if you have made a concerted effort to speak to them in person about it and they dont respond, it sounds as if there are either 1]really bad at managing people or 2] have had a big downswing in work load, cant deal with it and maybe really have to cut staff but cant. 3]maybe they dont think your ready yet.