Archinect
anchor

I'm 30 with no Arch Background. Is it too late to get M. Arch 1 and go into Architecture?

physalia

My background is in Design / Digital Media, so I'm comfortable in design and 3D visualization.  I know schools want diverse backgrounds, but is it hard to keep up in class?      Will it be hard to get my first arch job in mid-30s? 

Nov 7, 11 10:04 pm
Lackey

Several of my classmates are in their 30's and beyond.  They do quite well.  I'm close to 30 myself.  I don't think it can hurt your chances at employment, unless you suck.

Nov 8, 11 1:18 am  · 
2  · 
jason_sf

I'm also 30 and applying for a M.Arch I. While I cannot tell you anything from experience since I am in the exact same position as you, perhaps I can share some thoughts.

Firstly, you are not that old. I think the average age at most schools is around 27, so don't feel like you are that far behind. If anything, being older can be an advantage because presumably you have greater real-world experience, and are generally more focused on what you are after than someone straight out of undergrad. Secondly, I am sure you will not have any problem keeping up, especially given your design background. There are people who have backgrounds in economics or political science who get admitted. Schools will not expect you to just know how to do crazy parametric stuff and digital modeling/fabrication without some training--after all, it is school. Lastly, I don't understand why it would be anymore difficult to get a job in your mid-thirties versus someone in their late twenties. Again, it may be easier for you given your extra years of experience and diverse background.