Archinect
anchor

Job Titles, leaving it off a resume

Ms Beary

The other day I was speaking with an old arch school classmate of mine and she was shocked that I called myself an intern. I have almost 4 years of experience and am currently looking for a new job. I should be starting to take exams as soon as I satisy a few more IDP sections and can get the paperwork in order. On my resume I have my previous job description as Intern architect. That is what was on my business cards, that is how I was introduced to people by the principals, it was on my e-mail signature etc. She, on the other hand, had been called either architectural designer or project manager and now that I think about it, most other interns I have contact with call themselves one of these terms (or ass't proj. mgr.) and NOT intern and their firms don't call them interns. Is this a regional thing? Is a firm going to look at my resume and assume I am entry level soley because of this, as my friend believes? She said my old firm was very derogatory for calling me intern with that much experience in front of clients etc and the various offices she worked at would never do that. She suggested I stop the nonsense now by not calling MYSELF an intern, but an architectural designer. Can I leave my job title off my resume and just let the accomplishments do the talking, or perhaps state my level of experience in the cover letter? I am not really applying for an 'internship' but am still not a full blown pm.

Oct 9, 05 12:02 pm
vado retro

call yerself a project manager. thats what i do. i had architectural intern on a resume and in an interview once, a design partner who was an interior designer, asked me "so, what's an intern architect?" this profession is screwy. cant even get the names coordinated.

Oct 9, 05 12:18 pm  · 
 · 
SuperHeavy

Yeah, not only doesn't 'intern' sound good, it's not descriptive. Were you an intern secretary, tech person, cad monkey.