Archinect
anchor

architecture - business plans?

gruen

When I started my first business - I said "business plan - that sounds like some stupid MBA thing. I'm an architect, I'm smarter than that. I don't need that crap."

Soon, I learned that I definately needed one. But never got around to finishing - running the business was too much work.

Do you have a business plan at your firm? Are you an owner or employee? What makes your business plan unique?

I'm slowly planning the next business, and want the business plan to be solid before starting. I want a good mix of a viable business model, and strong design. I want to combine the valuable lessons of mass production with the vital necessity for custom design.

Want to share ideas?

Oct 4, 05 8:54 am
fordified

Check out "Architecture: The Story of Practice" by Dana Cuff

Also, I know dissing the AIA is an official sport of archinecters, but I find "The Architect's Handbook of Professional Practice" enormously helpful and clarifying.

Though I'll be very interested in hearing what other have to say here.

Oct 4, 05 9:26 am  · 
 · 
el jeffe

I've found the local SBDC to be helpful, except as it pertains to the specifics of architecture.

Oct 4, 05 10:42 am  · 
 · 
losdogedog

gruen,
Several years ago, I wrote a business plan for my small practice and it has proved to be exremley valuable. I ended taking a workshop sponsered by Nxlevel. It was free. They have workshops in most states. Through the class, there was access to many business people and companies like Price Waterhouse. They will critique your business plan, give valuable business advice and help answer many of your questions. It was also helpful to network with other business owners, bankers etc. I would highly recommend.

Oct 4, 05 12:46 pm  · 
 · 
gruen

I took a look at the nxlevel site - it does look good. I agree w/sharing your business plan w/others - many business ideas don't hold up under the spotlight of critique.