Archinect
anchor

I am a student desperately trying to get into an architecture school

mihk1151

Hi everyone. I am a new member to this site, and I've found that you are all extremely helpful to other members. So i was if you could all help me out here. My name is Rocky and I am currently a sophmore at Penn State Altoona. Ever since I was a freshman in high school, I already knew that I wanted to become an architect. So since then, I took all the architecture related classes in high school, I even got a job my senior year as an architectural drafter for an expanding retirement facility. In fact, I got second place in a district competition. However, even with all my experiences and skills, I was not able to get into any architecture school. I mean I had a 3.7 in high school and a 3.5 right now in college, but it just seems like none of that really matters. So what exactly do these architecture departments look for regarding admission to the program? Also, what do they look for exactly in a portfolio? I have applied to virginia tech (virginia is where i came from), uva, and penn state's program, but I just can't get into any of them! I just feel like I am wasting my time and money here at penn state if I can't get into the architecture program here. I just don't know what to do and my time is running out. PLEASE HELP! I just don't want to give up now.

Sep 7, 05 2:45 am
swisscardlite

do the schools that you apply to require a portfolio? because most schools that require a portfolio rely heavily on the portfolio as the deciding factor. if you are looking into a good school (a lot of the good schools typically require a portfolio) and you haven't started one yet, I would highly recommend doing one. i think skills and experience are great because they show commitment in you but I think they also want to see that you can think creatively and spatially. A portfolio does that. good luck!

Sep 7, 05 3:09 am  · 
 · 
guiggster