Archinect
anchor

Is being a LEED AP a waste of money/time/investment?

Thought I'd climb into the 21st century a bit and went to a two day seminar on becoming a LEED AP. I understand the importance of integrating the technology and design understanding. What I don't really understand is - call me skeptical - what will be the ongoing attraction to having a LEED Certified building, and having to PAY for the reviews, rebuttals, etc.?

Certain building types have been clamoring for the ability to advertise "First Hospital to be LEED Silver" or whichever (I am primarily a preservation architect, so the language is still a bit foreign.) But what then? Do all other hospitals, or other buildings that weren't the FIRST to be LEED accredited in their respective building-type just drop the ball and not care?

I guess I am pessimistic about the ability of LEED to keep the projects, and the Owners, wanting to pay for the reviews and the title that will not be able to pay them back. Why would an Owner pay tens of thousands of dollars to LEED when they could have the same knowledgible, caring thought in materials and design for the cost of the design fee? Is their building less of a building because it doesn't have that fabled LEED accreditation?

I am a rabling fool on this Friday night... I would like the more knowledgable in the crowd (perhaps the more LEED brainwashed?) to let me know if I'll still be caring about LEED in 10 years, or will it all eventually become integrated in newer building codes?

lobo...

And if this topic is not new cheese, hook me up to the link of the previous posts... thanks.

Jul 16, 05 12:30 am
driftwood
"And if this topic is not new cheese, hook me up to the link of the previous posts... thanks."

Why should we do that? It's basic message board courtesy for a newbie (and anyone else who hasn't been around a while), before making a post, to search the boards for a thread that's already answered his or her question. Are you that lazy?