Archinect
anchor

first internship - portfolio advice

catnip

i have an interview coming up for my first internship with an architecture firm. the job will mostly involve drafting.
the thing is, i don't have much technical stuff to include in my portfolio since i have never worked in architecture before and i have just finished my first year of the m.arch.1.
i'm worried that my portfolio has too much abstract, theoretical stuff that no employer could possibly care about, and nothing that shows that i can draft. i'm also worried that i have too little in my portfolio in the first place.
has anyone been in this situation? any advice on how to make a good early portfolio?

May 23, 05 12:23 pm
catnip

101 people looked at this. no advice?

May 24, 05 6:16 pm  · 
 · 
The commish

My first question for you is can you draft? If so, you should set out some time and do some technical drwaings of anything you can get technical with. That way you get some practice, and you get what you feel you are lacking in your portfolio.
Of course you may not have time to actually do these drawings and add them to your portfolio. In this case, I would say get any technical drawings that you do have, digitize them, and make a cd for your interview as a leave behind in addition to your portolio.

Unfortunately, a portfolio does require somewhat of a "body" of work. If you don't have much to show, that is ok. A good composition on a page can make a quite an impression, regardless of how much content there is. A portfolio doesn't need to be saturated with work, it just needs to be done well.

Hope this helps. Good luck.

May 24, 05 6:38 pm  · 
 · 
Aluminate