Archinect
anchor

residential fees

yoiyoi

i'm doing a small addition to a friend's two storey dwelling with an approximated value of $80 000 . what is would be a good lump sum fees to charge for the design and preparation of cds
thanks for your suggestions

Mar 25, 05 10:43 pm
Sean Taylor

It would depend upon your locale. Here in New England, I am charging 18% of the total Construction Cost for an addition/alteration. But, if you are doing this on a freelance basis, or as a student, I would probably charge an hourly rate of between $50 to $75 per hour for a friend. That is what I charged years ago doing freelance work, but there are many variables (location, experience, availability, scope of work, etc.) that would weigh in on that.

Also, unless you have experience in these things, it will take you two to three times the amount of hours that you think it will.

Good Luck.

Mar 25, 05 10:56 pm  · 
 · 
yoiyoi

its in philly just a bit hesitant to go with a hourly rate since i'm not sure i could come up with a good estimate.
with regards to scope of work - would be permit set and builder's set

basically looking for a rate (ball park) to make fair buck without getting ripped off and also get some experience under the belt

would say $ 6 000 be reasonble?

Mar 26, 05 12:56 am  · 
 · 
funga

in the city of angels, from 7 to 12 percent, do you need an stamp , where you are?

it depends if it is contemporary and full of crazy details, or traditional, if you need a consultant you should charge them separatly.

Plus how good friend he is ???

Mar 26, 05 1:32 am  · 
 · 
Dazed and Confused

I'd charge $800.00 and spend 10 hours on it.

Mar 26, 05 2:46 am  · 
 · 
yoiyoi

anyone else want to chime in?

Mar 28, 05 11:31 am  · 
 · 
archie