Archinect
anchor

how to apply for an internship?

lizok

I have NO EXPERIENCE in Arch [b/c of a brief tangent into the world of Psychology and PreMed], but I have been PAINTING for years and years, and was a scenic design assistant/student last year... Do I just mention all that as experience in my resume and send passionate letters to all companies, or is there a better approach?

Mar 17, 05 9:21 pm
Ms. Pudding

Architecture is such a skills specific profession that I think it'd be hard to find a job without any kind of training. I don't think painting will be a convincing enough skill for employers to take you in unless you have mind blowing watercolouring/ sketching/ drawing skills. Some firms seem to be looking for people who can do that well, but I can't say that's the only thing they're looking for.

I'm actually looking for jobs right now too. I'm aiming for a student position like "architectural assistant", "junior architect assistant", "student architect", whatever they call it. And from what I've seen, this is what employers generally ask for in their job descriptions:

1. Proficiency in AutoCAD
2. Students with a minimum of 2 years of education in an architecture program (they say 2nd years are ok, but most of the time they prefer 3rd years or up)
3. Previous office experience

I'm finding it rough because I don't have experience with AutoCad or any previous experience working in a firm. In your case, it's even more difficult because you have no architectural training or education.
Considering these things, my suggestion to you would be to get into a M.Arch program if you're really serious about entering the architectural industry. It's only 2 or 3 years and it'll be good fun if you like this stuff.

If you're really determined, then go ahead and try cold calls, sending out resumes and portfolios, etc. I'm not sure what results you'll get, but it might be worth seeing what response you'll recieve.