Archinect
anchor

Architecture School Dropout

I'm just curious to know how many people your studio loses per semester. Do the dropouts increase as time goes by, or does it plateau? I'm sure Graduate Programs are different, but how many people do you/did you lose in your undergrad?

I am first year-second semester and we have lost 9 that I can think of off the top of my head. For a class of 65ish, that seems quite high. ...and it seems that there are at least another five whose clock is ticking.

Mar 15, 05 8:08 pm
e

as a grad student, i taught a first year, first semester studio class. i started with 12 students and lost three by the end of the semester. so 25%. pretty common for a high drop out rate in the first couple of semesters. most are naive about the amount of dedication required.

Mar 15, 05 8:16 pm  · 
 · 
momentum

thats nothing, i started with a class of 300 or so, and that got taken down to about 120-140 by the 2nd year. 80 or so for 3rd year, but after that it was too hard to keep track because i was too busy to give a damn.

when i was teaching as a grad student i would typically have 2 students from each class drop during the semester, but i would typically never see half of them in the architecture building again after the end of the year or semester.

Mar 15, 05 8:23 pm  · 
 · 
Archi-F

At my undergrad we had 110 people first year. By third year we were down to 28. At graduation we had 23.

Mar 15, 05 8:26 pm  · 
 · 
eeayeeayo

In undergrad at least 50% of the people who started in my class had either left or gotten out of sync with the year (i.e. taken time off or failed enough that they ended up in another class) by the time we graduated.
This is not unusual in undergrad programs.

In grad school not one person dropped out over the course of 3 years, and our class graduated with considerably more than we started with because of people returning from leaves of absence and such.

Mar 15, 05 8:47 pm  · 
 · 
evilplatypus