Archinect
anchor

Lowes or a Degree???

ichweiB

As a college student, I have been in need of making some additional cash considering the fact that I am getting married in May. As a Arch. Design student, I have done plans for builders in the city where I go to school, but because building is slow right now, I went elsewhere to find a job. I applied at Lowes Home Improvement and got a job designing kitchens with a basic CAD program. During orientation, I was educated on compensation possibilities, 401ks and stock options.
I find it incredibly interesting that people like us(those getting a professional degree in either a BArch or an MArch or both) will usually only be making between 35-45k for the first 3-5 years in our profession OR I could walk into Lowes without a college degree or even a high school degree and get a job and within 2 years I could be making a salary of at least 40k, with commission, a 401k plan that matches better than many companies, stock options, and mortgage programs allowing employees to buy a home with a lower interested rate than the current available rates anywhere else.

Not to be disrespectful, but there are men I work with who barely speak our English language correctly who have over half a million dollars in a 401k- not to mention what they have in a stock account that is provided for them for free.

I find all this incredibly interesting considering how much we will all spend for an education and then how we will be compensated for having professional degrees. Part of our job is to protect the life, health, and safety of the public in our designs. Like doctors, who do a similar job(which I realize is quite a bit more intense than our job as far as liability is concerned), they get paid based on the seriousness of their jobs.

Anyhow, I am just thinking and wondering if anyone else finds this puzzling.

Mar 9, 05 1:42 pm
FRO

sounds like you just saved yourself a lot of money. ;)

Mar 9, 05 2:03 pm  · 
 ·