Archinect
anchor

Grads versus Undergrads

ArchAngel

So, as far as licensure is concerned, a basic rule is:
4-year architectural degree, 1170 TU's
Masters degree, 700 TU's

While I embrace higher education, how is it that one with two less years experience in the professional realm is more qualified / eligible than another with twice as much time in the field? Never Understood this.
Since I am a licensed Architect, I need not worry about these things anymore, but by comparison, it doesn't seem fair to me when I see employees who are no more experienced than their coworkers achieving licensure after having contributed less, professionally.
Anyone else feel the same way? Take two people, one with a Master's, one with a 4-year pre-prof Arch degree and start them at the same firm at the same time. After two years, one is licensed and the other has to work another wo year before enjoying the same rewards. Is this fair? Is this undergrad less able to grasp the profession than the graduate? We all know the rules, what's the reason for this?

Mar 5, 05 9:55 am
kissy_face

Pre-prof is one thing-I think its the people with a 5yr B.Arch who get screwed. The requirements are more extensive than the masters, yet those with some 2.50-3yr Master's degree (even those who didn't do architecture undergrad) are more qualified? Please!

Mar 5, 05 11:31 am  · 
 · 
Aluminate

People with 4-year degrees are only eligible for licensing in certain states, and it's a shrinking list. Taking this route will create problems with reciprocal licensing in other states later. Basically those programs are not regulated by NAAB (except as the "4" component of a 4+2 sequence) so the curriculum may or may not include some or all of what a B.Arch or M.Arch program would include. In many cases the 4-year programs don't have nearly as many credits specifically in architecture as professional programs do.