Archinect
anchor

Intern woes

pomoinmono

Hi ----

I'm looking for some advice about working in a firm. I currently work part-time at a small, 10-person, NYC arch. firm. I'm a paid intern but I'm actually really low on the totem pole because I'm only minoring in architecture at a school that has a pretty lame program and my minor is not related at all. I have been working here since the beginning of last summer (at which point I worked full time). I have very low requirement for hours because of the rigor of my current major, but they are very understanding and I work about 10-12 hours a week. Someone leaked to me that the principal (who hired me and is really, really considerate) is looking to hire another intern over the summer, someone with more background exp. I was kind of upset when I heard this because I was really looking forward to giving my all this summer and really learning alot and moving up a little. My "source" recommended I send the boss an email pronto, securing the continuation of my job into the summer and somehow getting him to not hire someone else and thereby preventing me from moving up. How should I do this? What approach should I take? I don't even know what they think of me in general because I don't get quarterly updates on my progress like school. But they seem to be at least not aggravated by me and try to give me chances to do more CAD and those types of things. Always invite me to firm dinners and out-with-the bosses nights. Anyway, any advice welcome ......

Feb 25, 05 9:07 am
pomoinmono

woops, meant to say my MAJOR is not related at all .....

Feb 25, 05 9:08 am  · 
 ·