Archinect
anchor

the worst sh*t you've seen: sites pre-demo

anotherquestion

im still a newbie, but had to survey the basement at a site where there was literally 1/2" of rat shit covering the floor, and i had to sing the whole time so that the rodents would know i was there and would stay hidden. i think it was an illegal squat at some point.

anyway, what's the worst you've ever seen?

someday, i hope to look back fondly upon this 'war story', but right now im gonna go burn the clothes i wore.

Feb 24, 05 3:01 pm
Suture

you might die of the plague!

Feb 24, 05 3:14 pm  · 
 · 
anotherquestion

suture, i thought that YOU were the plague?

: )

Feb 24, 05 3:16 pm  · 
 · 
caste

ok, I was measuing a building on the west side of chicago. The interior had burned some time back. The neighborhood was as shit as you can imagine. So we opened the back door to the basement to find that then entire floor was covered in bottles, needles, rat shit and various other shit. Now at some point a crew had come by and started to patch and replace joists, but I guess the job died. So what was left above the basement were two floors of open wood joists with scattered sheets of plywood to bridge them. So we started to measure the basement only to find that a sewer line had ruptured some time ago leaving a nice little funk puddle. Also as I was going to the top floor a few stairs broke out from under me leaving me with one foot jammed in the debris handing over that funk covered basement. At that I called it a day and just made up the measurments for the top floor.

Feb 24, 05 3:25 pm  · 
 · 
Ddot

abandoned medical waste storage facility.

imagine the worst, and you'll be close.

Feb 24, 05 3:30 pm  · 
 · 
higgsARCH