Archinect
anchor

"I'm a conceptual architect"

IADR

I was reading a rather old article on the architect David Adjaye in The Guardian (UK newspaper).
below is an extract of what he said:

Adjaye is not a frustrated YBA; he does, though, call himself a "conceptual architect". "People usually say, 'Oh, that means bullshit'. I say it means the ability for me to use anything to express my ideas. The idea is the most important concept within the whole construction. Everything else is a means to an end."

I really like Adjayes work, you could say he's one of my favourite architects at the moment, but would you say what he has said there is a load of crap.
I'm in my first year of studying architecture, and yeah I guess I would say my work is quite coneptual, but I'm not sure if I would place myself so boldly in a catogary like Adjaye has above.
Can one really be a "conceptual architect"

Feb 24, 05 1:36 pm
evilplatypus

If you make a snowman out of a pile of shit, you still have a pile of shit.

Feb 24, 05 4:39 pm  · 
 · 
Museschild

libeskind was for a long time, and look where that got him.

Feb 24, 05 4:41 pm  · 
 · 
evilplatypus

Where is that exactly, bending over for SOM?

Feb 24, 05 5:02 pm  · 
 · 
asonjay

"The idea is the most important concept within the whole construction..."

There is a difference between a "practicing architect" who is passionate about the conceptual stuff of a project being a strong as possible given all the constraints of building a usable and constructable project in an economy driven environment

and

a "conceptual architect" who is SO passionate about expressing an idea through that usability, constructability, economy, etc. become a hindrance to the concept. Therefore, most of their work exists in the digital environment or some other environment where the concept can be uninhibited.

I am not familiar with his work so i don't know which he belongs to. maybe both.