Archinect
anchor

Tips to move to the United States

Hi everyone,

Due to personal reasons, I will be moving to DC in about a year. I am currently working in Switzerland as a project manager (multi-family residential, competitions) in a well-respected local firm, and I have a total of 7 years of post-graduate experience, one of which was in a highly reputed firm in the United States.

I am aware that I am trying to break into a market where there are plenty of competitive candidates, and at my level of experience any other architect will have a great deal of local knowledge. I would like to know if anyone has any tips on what I could do during this year to make myself a more interesting cadidate. For the time being, I'm studying to get the LEED GA qualification, and researching local codes, the architectural culture, etc. All of which seems like not enough from my perspective.

If anybody here has any tips or pointers I would be extremely grateful, as I would really like to use this year to get ahead and find an opportunity in a similar role as my current one.

With many thanks,

Gonzalo

Oct 13, 24 12:23 pm
BulgarBlogger

The LEED GA credential is a good way to get closer to the LEED AP credential, but even non-architects get that credential. So you really won’t be getting the “wows” you are expecting by getting the LEED GA.