Archinect
anchor

Why is Community & Regional Planning still the stepchild to Architecture?

BluecornGroup

There has been posts where people have questioned their opportunities and their future in the profession as a registered architect - I did pass the ARE but it wouldn't transfer to my home state because I didn't have a five-year professional degree per NCARB requirements - many substantial projects come from Federal, State, Local, and Tribal governments where much project planning work (including site analysis, programming, and budgeting) has already taken place on an administrative level - I have a Masters in Public Administration and a graduate education in Community & Regional Planning and write RFP's for both architectural and planning projects - there is so much opportunity in government service especially with the American Institute of Certified Planner (AICP) designation - your most secure and creative jobs with excellent benefits come from government employment including a secure retirement - as a Building Designer and wide-area Planner I believe this aligned profession has never received the respect it deserves ...

Long live Art Vandalay, Architect ...    

Aug 25, 24 10:26 am
reallynotmyname

I think it's perceived as being un-glamourous relative to architecture where the media tells us that whatever sexy starchitect of the moment is poised to save us all with their groovy new building.  I also think the heavy use of data and rational methodologies in planning practice keeps away the charlatans and publicity-seekers who keep architecture in the media limelight and have also colonized US architectural academia.  These architecture teachers would often suggest to us students that engineers and planners were boring people in boring disciplines and not smart or creative.