Archinect
anchor

Do you guys have any resume tips for someone applying for their first architecture job out of University?

I got my master of architecture degree last year, but I never worked an architecture job in my life. I've worked the past five years at a research lab which works with heritage BIM, but I personally never worked on a team that heavily focused on it. I've basically been working as a graphic designer, animator, researcher, and more recently a web developer. The only architecture related work I've ever done was working on Revit for a few months to create room datasheets. I am proficient in architecture related softwares like Revit, AutoCAD, Rhino, TwinMotion, etc and I'm fairly good at learning new skills. My problem is I don't have the professional background to back these up asides from my portfolio. 

That being said, I was wondering if anyone has any advice on how to put together a resume for someone looking for an intern architect job given the following experience. 

Thank you very much in advance. I'm in quite a tough position so I really really appreciate any help I can get.

Jul 2, 23 7:36 pm

1 Featured Comment

All 3 Comments

newbie.Phronesis

Hi alexisalmacin, my 2 cents: focus on your portfolio and cover letter/email instead. Fresh grads aren't expected to have much experience, but the variety of work+interesting projects it sounds like you've done should be great for standing out. They can also be added to resume under experience - transferable skills from any non-architecture work counts!

You can try contacting your school or student association for specific resume help/feedback. There are also several articles floating around the forum on resumes, like here:  Resume tip: Tailor to the job | News | Archinect  ; personally find a simple+clean style is usually better, just match graphically and font-wise to your portfolio, but it's really up to your individual style. Cheers and good luck!

Jul 2, 23 9:03 pm  · 
2  · 
alexisalmacin