Archinect
anchor

Career options with my bachelors degree

Hello Archinect. I thought I would post here to get feedback from the community. I graduated Texas Tech University back in late 2015, and have been at complete loss on how best to use my current bachelor's degree in Architecture. I've held a lot of smaller jobs in the meantime, like working elections, being a teaching assistant at one point, and just recently, I've been working as a call representative... I fell into this out of the blue, and it is nowhere near what I am skilled in and it's a bit of a bore and I know I can do much better. I have tried numerous time to email and apply to internships and talk to firms throughout the years, but nobody was interested in taking me on and hiring me. As I've just turned 30 and am still very much lacking architecture experience (to see if I would actually like to pursue the career), I'm really wanting a change in career and my options going forward with the education and skills I posess. I've gotten at least a few interviews within the last two months, but they all lead to rejection. If architecture is not for me, then I'm really not sure what is. I disappointed teachers during my schooling, I failed to get into graduate school last year, as I felt confident in pursuing Space Architecture in Houston, Texas... but again, failed to get into the program. While ambitious (as I feel like a potential space-oriented architecture career would be very cool and fulfilling and in line with something I may want to do), I've contemplated graphic design as well as both interior and industrial design... but there is nobody to take me on with my credentials and I'm at a complete loss on how to move forward with my architecture degree. I can design and draw and I'm confident in my quality of craft... it's just finding someone to give me a chance.

What all did you do with your bachelor's degree in architecture and do you have any advice on the matter? Thank you in advance.