Archinect
anchor

Becoming a licensed architect without a Master Degree?

Messy

Greetings everyone! 

I graduated with a 4-year Bachelor of Arts non-professional architecture program 2 years ago (not in UK or US, I am also not a US or UK citizen). Very fortunately or unfortunately, I entered an international firm as a trainee and later got hired as a junior architectural designer (a role that typically requires me to be a master graduate). After submitting my fall 2023 master in architecture applications, I began to think about one thing: is it possible to become a licensed architect with just a 4-year non-professional architecture program?

My motivations for having such thoughts are very simple: firstly, tuition fee is unimaginably expensive especially in the US. While the obvious solution would be to do an architectural master asap somewhere else with better tuition, I also feel hesitant spending another 2 years studying in an industry with a lot of uncertainties instead of "working". I find myself enjoying working a lot more than being at school (which with no offense I find quite problematic and to some extent meaningless). 

For my home country and where I am working in now, becoming an architect without a master degree would be unlikely. I notice that in some states of US (let's say NY) it is possible to become an architect with a non-professional degree. If I am not wrong you just have to work 5 years and pass the exam, comparing with 3 years if you have a professional degree. Is that valid? While I might be stretching too far, is it possible for an international applicant to work outside of US for 5 years and pass such exam and become an architect, or is it only for US graduates (for example)?

Thank you very much. Just some random thoughts...

Dec 11, 22 11:26 am

It's going to depend on the state.  This website will help for the US. 

https://www.ncarb.org/get-lice...