Archinect
anchor

Registering for my license

Victormiz

Hi,

I just passed all my NCARB tests and completed the necessary experience hours in order to proceed with getting my license. The problem is, the company I have been working for for the last 5 years is not a licensed architect but we are partnered directly with a licensed architect who signs off on my plans but my paycheck came from the company that was not licensed. Did anyone have an issue in which NCARB did not accept their experience hours because of this and if so, how can I prove that I worked the necessary hours directly with the licensed architect? Looking forward to the feedback!

Oct 6, 22 1:25 pm
SneakyPete

Were you under the direct and daily supervision of a licensed architect? Sounds like they were a partner, but if they were not directing you it might be a tough sell.

Oct 6, 22 1:33 pm  · 
 · 

So if I understand correctly, you have never submitted hours to be approved on NCARB yet?

If that is the case, can you ask the said licensed Architect to be your AXP supervisor (who approves your hours) on NCARB website? However, then it will say on the NCARB record that you worked for the firm that licensed architect's firm, which is a problem. 

You should probably talk to an NCARB rep.

The underlying point of AXP is to have you mentored by a licensed architect for some thousands of hours... so I agree with above that it is a tough sell.

Oct 6, 22 1:41 pm  · 
1  · 

First off, CONGRATULATIONS!  

I'd talk to NCARB.  I'm surprised you were able to take all of your exams without completing your IDP.  Is this something  that 5.0 has revised?

Oct 6, 22 2:01 pm  · 
 · 
square.

yes- you can immediately start taking exams after graduation now

Oct 7, 22 2:31 pm  · 
 · 
Victormiz