Archinect
anchor

Resources to Learn Real Estate Development

zacharygoldstein,ra

Do y'all know of any great resources to learn about real estate development?  I'm interested in learning more about development and in, potentially transitioning from architecture to development.

May 24, 22 4:23 pm
Non Sequitur

great resources for development are easy to find.  You just need access to capital (preferably not your own) and own land.  The rest are minor details.

May 24, 22 4:26 pm  · 
reallynotmyname

How much time and money are you willing to invest in your learning effort?  There are masters degree programs in the US for people wanting to go into development; some are called "sustainable real estate development".  There's also a traveling guy who does seminars for 1-2 days for architects who want to get into development.  The architects I personally know who are in development are self-taught and doing it on a fairly small scale by buying and rehabbing houses and small apartment buildings.  Developers generally start with smaller projects and move to successively larger things. 

May 24, 22 5:59 pm  · 
 · 
zacharygoldstein,ra

Do you happen to have a name for the traveling guy that does seminars?

May 25, 22 3:42 pm  · 
 · 
The_Crow

Also curious about this. Can't tell if the Master's degrees are worth it or not...

May 24, 22 6:11 pm  · 
 · 

Do you already have a B.Arch?

May 24, 22 6:14 pm  · 
 · 
The_Crow

Yep, and an M. Arch.

May 25, 22 1:00 pm  · 
 · 

Interesting.  Why both?  Are you interested in teaching?  Was the quality of education just that much better between your B.Arch and M.Arch programs?  

May 26, 22 5:00 pm  · 
 · 
zacharygoldstein,ra

i'm trying to keep the costs low.  Not trying to get a graduate degree - mostly interested in learning how the process works from start to finish to get a better sense for how I can get involved in development.

So far, I think i found a few potential course / guide options:

https://theskylineforum.com/