Archinect
anchor

Common technical issues with structural engineers

milkshakelake

What are common technical issues between architects and structural engineers?

One example is diagonal steel bracing and how it affects windows. 

Background: I'm a structural engineer thinking about making a course. It will be for architects to understand technical aspects of structures so they coordinate better with us. There are tons of super technical courses out there, so I want to: 1) distill the relevant parts, and 2) make it easy to understand. Architects don't really need to know about biaxial bending, phi factors, finite element analysis, etc. 

I'm also new here so please be gentle =)

Dec 12, 21 8:56 pm
proto

finish flr vs top of slab/deck

size of a W10

expansion jts

acceptable deflections by material/sys

exposed structural finishes

waterproofing at foundation details

Dec 12, 21 11:18 pm  · 
1  · 
milkshakelake

Got it. This is very helpful and I'll go over this stuff. About waterproofing, I always left that up to the architect. I guess I need to read about it more. 

Dec 13, 21 12:01 pm  · 
1  · 
ivanmillya

I don't know if this is what you'd consider technical or not, but here's my shortlist that I come across with my structural engineers:

1. T.O. wall, deck, etc. heights. My engineers never indicate these on their structural drawings, and I've heard all the arguments about "Oh well it's the Architect's scope because they're the ones determining the building's height", but at the same time, I'd rather the T.O. heights be indicated on structural drawings, since that's where the framers, masons, etc. will be looking most often when they're doing their work.