Archinect
anchor

Online Portfolios

Hi everyone,

I'm a newly-minted architect here in the State of Colorado. I have been out of the work force since May of 2019 to raise my 3 kids while my wife climbs the career ladder, "she's much better at it than I am." I earned my license during 2020 and early 2021 and I'm looking to join the work force again or possibly start my own business. I was looking for some thoughts on portfolios.

I haven't updated my resume or portfolio since 2013 and I'm doing both online.

Question 1: All of my experience comes from the one firm I have always worked for. Everything I did for them is their property according to their employee handbook. I'm still on good terms with the principals but would like to own the visuals of the work I did for them. My workaround was to take photos of my prior built projects and credit the work appropriately but retain the rights to my own images without having to ask permission down the road. Is this a sound way to build my portfolio, especially if I decide to start my own business?

Question 2: Are there any good online resources that describe someone's transition from architectural employee to an independent architect? 

Question 3: Are there any excellent examples of portfolios online that inspire you?

Sep 23, 21 10:50 am
ivanmillya

The AIA position (can't remember the specific handbook, I think it's Rules of Conduct) on using firm work for a portfolio is that you can show work that you had a role in, but you must clearly identify the firm the work belongs to, your role in the project, and demonstrate what parts of the images are your work, and what parts are someone else's. Regardless, the best practice is to sit down with your (previous?) employer and talk with them about using the work you did in your portfolio. They'll tell you how they'd prefer to be credited.