Archinect
anchor

women in architecture

mindthegap

As a woman STUDENT in architecture, what hurdles do you face ? 

Sep 22, 21 8:30 am
chopshop

How about telling us about your observations or experiences to provide some substance and then others can chime in. You should respond to your other topics first, the ones with active input. 

Bear in mind if this is some sort of lazy crowd-sourcing survey, this type of low-effort work from a man or a woman is going to get the same amount of head-shaking and unflattering comments.

Sep 22, 21 12:21 pm  · 
2  · 
mindthegap

Your right sorry this is my first time using a forum and I’m actively seeking answers to a lot of questions through my personal experience. I do feel there is a gap I am a student myself and I have experienced it several times. I did my bachelor's in another country so I agree that location does help. but I still know it’s not easy for female students. I have seen some male students get more than what they are talented for, and while that, comparing is not that solution. I actively follow and keep myself to date with advocacy platforms for women architects yet nowhere do they talk about students. I feel the gap is largely hidden at the bottom than at the top.I have seen so many of my female colleagues leave architecture after graduating..why? Because either they don’t get the job in fields for which they advocated. They end up “compromising” and doing a 9-5 job and eventually leave and while starting out a business is out of the question for a few. While this is not the case for all, there are still some women going through this. I feel this should be done in academics. I don’t remember having these conversations in my uni or being prepared for the real outer world.

Sep 22, 21 7:33 pm  · 
 · 
chopshop