Archinect
anchor

What is professionally better to do here? Additional interview request after accepting another job offer

anongarcia85

I'm a recent graduate and was job searching since February this year with little success for a while. After getting two job offers, one from a less well known, medium-sized corporate firm and one from a more well known large corporate firm, I took the latter. I've accepted the offer and filled out preliminary forms and I start in three weeks.

However, I just got an interview request for an internationally-renowned firm whose work I've been a fan of for a long time. It's another large corporate firm, so quite similar to the offer I took but they are, in my opinion, more design focused and receive more design awards. 

I think it's too late to reject the offer I've accepted? I feel it would be leaving on bad terms. But I am debating accepting an interview with the last firm to at least meet some leadership there and possibly be considered for future opportunities and get my name and face out there. Ultimately though, I would say I took another offer a couple days after the interview, since I feel it is too late to not follow through on the job I've accepted. 

Would taking the interview just to get my foot in the door and meet some leadership, only to say no a couple days after be unprofessional? I'm not sure if it would come across as wasting their time or if they would consider me for any future job opportunities should I apply again since they obviously liked my portfolio? Would it be better to not do the interview and let them know I'm interested in future opportunities but have taken a job? I ultimately want to work with them in the future but am not sure which option would come across better.

Sep 13, 21 2:55 pm
Kinsbergen

Ask to be compensated as per your hourly rate for the interview. It counts as work hours now, no?

Sep 13, 21 3:04 pm  · 
 · 

Conduct yourself as a professional.

Sep 13, 21 3:09 pm  · 
 ·