Archinect
anchor

Generative Architecture: Optimizing the Architectural Design Process

jessenG

I'm a software engineer with a passion for architecture and I have started a company dedicated to applying generative design to the architectural design process. The problem is that I am not a domain expert in architecture and I don't have any insight into the daily pain points of the design process. 

Thus far, we have partnered with several AEC companies to develop and generative floor-plan tool that aims to automate the intake of residential home-buyer needs and wants and produces a set of floor plans that optimize for their inputs. I think this is a great start for us, but the purpose of this post is to collect input from architects all around the world about any blatant pain points architects are facing or any necessary features that would need to be in a new tool in order to make it valuable.

For example, I am aware that some architectural firms will design buildings in teams and some will assign a project to only one architect. Would a valuable tool need to offer some kind of collaborative services in order to bring value to you? Would you like to be able to view, annotate, and co-create documents or 3D models in one tool? 

If you had the resources to build out the perfect tool for you and your team what would that tool do?

We are technologically capable and willing to explore even the most radical ideas! 

Sep 8, 21 12:51 pm
SneakyPete

A "generative floor-plan tool that aims to automate the intake of residential home-buyer needs and wants and produces a set of floor plans that optimize for their inputs" you say?

Why yes, I'd LOVE to give you more data for your architect replacement tech bro gadget, where do I sign up? Shall I also burn my degree, lobotomize myself, and shred all of my money so as to help you in your quest to commoditize and monetize my profession? 

Sep 8, 21 12:59 pm  · 
1  · 
jessenG