Archinect
anchor

How can I learn about design process building and iteration?

KingsMake

Ok, so I am a self taught industrial designer and looking to one day pursue a masters in architecture. My designs go through hundreds of iterations both on paper and in CAD for the development of design and utility. I want to start creating an architecture portfolio for admissions to M.arch II programs, but there are so many amazing buildings and I want to know the design processies used to design them. Basic example -why does The Walt Disney Concert Hall look good? I know it looks amazing, but I don't understand how Gehry came to the conclusion that these exact bends and twists will look good? What constraints was he using? I have the same question regarding many great and complex buildings. 

Im not necessary looking for an answer as to how Gehry designed the concert hall, but what resources can I use to study architectural methods. I think that by studying the logic behind these buildings, one can really learn better intuition and enhance their creativity. 

Jul 14, 21 10:08 pm
JLC-1

you should definitely look at gehry's process, it's a movie  Sketches of Frank Gehry

Jul 14, 21 11:47 pm  · 
 · 

Self-taught industrial designer ... how and what did you teach yourself?

Jul 15, 21 12:20 am  · 
 · 
KingsMake

These are some of my design. Software like Rhino and V-Ray and some intuition for design. I can sort of explain how I iterated to these designs, but I want to see how famous architects came up with their work. 

Jul 15, 21 12:57 am  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

No tea pot?

Jul 15, 21 7:55 am  · 
1  · 

"intuition" and rendering software makes you an industrial designer? Who are your clients?

Jul 15, 21 9:05 am  · 
 · 
Witty Banter

Does it really matter? How does this information help answer OP's question?

Jul 15, 21 9:24 am  · 
6  · 

The OP made a claim. I'd like to know how that claim is justified and if there is any transferable knowledge and experience other than Rhino.