Archinect
anchor

Do you necessarily have to be a top-notch student to get a job/intership?

archibox3

I'm currently an undergraduate student and being 3 years into Architecture. I've realized that I'm not the brightest candle in the room, after having multiple studios and asking for critiques from other colleagues/internet.

I know that people at the office expect you to have some decent basic knowledge about stuff so they will rest assured that they're not dealing with a newbie, but then, what if I just, let's say... know the basics of the basics? Do I have a chance? Or I have a long way to go?

May 28, 21 6:45 am
Non Sequitur

Schools already do, generally, a poor job at preparing students for the real world so it's tough to find an office willing to put in the time to fill-in the gaps of your education...however, you've not yet graduated so no one should expect you to know much anyways.  You will have greater luck finding a job by networking than filling in job adds online since most of these require some previous experience.

Worth noting for the 7th million time but never take an unpaid internship.

May 28, 21 7:43 am  · 
2  · 
RJ87

But what about if the firm pays you in experience doing unskilled labor & gold stars? Surely taking debt to go work for free at a company that makes millions of dollars a year makes sense. /sarcasm

May 28, 21 10:18 am  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

Gold stars? I retract my previous statements. Gold stars are totally worth exploitation.

May 28, 21 10:36 am  · 
1  · 
randomised

plenty of firms know that the best students make for the worst interns...underachieving middle of the road students are where it’s at internship-wise

May 28, 21 8:33 am  · 
5  · 
Elizabeth Adkins