Archinect
anchor

A Dream Job or A Dream School's offer (that cannot be deferred...)

thepoeticsofspace

Hi, I graduated my undergrad studies in 2020, and I hadn't been able to find a job under this pandemic, so I was trying to apply for masters early this year, just to keep my options open and making sure that I wouldn't be doing nothing at all if I couldn't find a job still.

But recently, I have just been really lucky to be offered a job at somewhere I have longed working for, (after hundreds of applications and about 15 interviews, uncountable rejections and crickets) AND  a place to study at my first choice school for masters programme after being on the waitlist. The problem with that is, this school does not allow deferred entry, and it has no guarantee that I would get in if I were to reapply next year. Obviously, I am super grateful for getting both offers of dream (I JUST CAN'T BELIEVE THIS), it has honestly been a long journey and undoubtedly this becomes the hardest decision to make in my architectural design life so far.

I am hoping that someone would be so kind to offer any advice, and would love to hear if anyone has been in a similar position before.

May 25, 21 4:41 pm
JLC-1

I would take the job now and reassess the situation later with the school. Maybe you end up applying to a different school after working for a couple of years.

May 25, 21 4:44 pm  · 
6  · 
Jay1122