Archinect
anchor

ugly old portfolio

midlander

seeing posts with fabulous portfolios from young students inspired me to go back and look at my student portfolio and reflect.

what i saw in the reflection was total shit. i was an earnest student with pretty good grades who did the absolute minimum in my work, yet got through it all fine. i look at it and think i'd never hire someone with work like that! i must be a hell of an interviewer to get the jobs i've gotten.

but i've done well in my career and have a pretty good job doing what i like (designing buildings that look nice). are portfolios just not much of an indicator of work capabilities? do other people have similar feelings? what does everyone here feel when they look at their old portfolios?

in all honesty, it's like looking at my prom-night photos and thinking - thank god no one important knew me then! except my mom...

and what about people who had superlative student works - do you look proudly back on the thick 100+page portfolio of exquisite works marveling how they prefigured your eventual recognition as an architectural genius?

May 24, 21 10:49 am
archanonymous

Some of my student projects were promising - for student projects - but the layout and presentation of the ideas, quality of drawings and representation, and overall portfolio were all shit compared to my portfolio now. There are a couple projects in there that I would still love to build, but I've moved on from most. My thesis was especially shit. 

My portfolio is now filled almost exclusively with built work, and enough of it that I can pick and choose what projects to include. This seems like a positive to me - it means I've grown a ton personally and professionally, and that the baseline competency and skills in our profession has also improved dramatically.