Archinect
anchor

How did you know you "love" architecture? Looking for second career advise

az0116

TLDR: I'm not an architect, trying to figure out if I want to be one as a second/third career, seeking advise on how to dip my toes in.

Background.  Im a 31 y.o., I have a degree in animation/film, I taught art and design at international high schools schools, before transitioning to a second career as a UX designer.  I aim to be in this career at least a little while longer (3-4 years).  I still have some curiosity and drive in this career, and I want to save enough money so that my next career is one where I don't have to worry about money, sorta like a semi-retirement career. 

Something about creating physical spaces really draws me in.  There's this adventurous feeling in my gut, the same one that told me to jump abroad after college and teach and travel, the same one that told me I could pack all my bags and transition to UX here.  I'm at the very beginning of trying to figure this all out, and all I have to go on is a gut feeling, but it's that same gut feeling I've listened to in my life that's guided me.   

I'm a free spirit in terms of following my curiosity in life, but I'm also a planner. So I started doing research on architecture.  And boy.  Googling around, there's plenty of people transitioning from architecture to UX, but not so much the other way around. There's a lot of cons, from the workload, the the stress, to the finances, to how education can be creative and conceptual but totally does not reflect the day-to-day drudgery, especially as a new graduate.  I hear you people say, "you only do it if you love it".