Archinect
anchor

Looking for a Mentor

crisprods

Hi architects,

I am a young aspiring architect. I am 26 years old and I am looking for a mentor. At the moment, I am going through my AXP/IDP hours but I have hit a standstill. Due to the pandemic, I am not employed by a licensed architect at the moment. I work with a subcontractor and cannot leave the job in the near future.

I only have 160 hours left in my AXP/IDP in the Project Planning & Design section and have already filled up the 320 hours that I am allowed to submit under construction work.

I am allowed to submit up to 320 hours more if I participate in a design competition and the hours are certified by a licensed architect mentor.

Please if there is anybody out there that would like to help an aspiring architect fulfill his AXP hours, do not hesitate to contact me.

Thank you.

Apr 22, 21 12:47 pm
SneakyPete

How dare you try and become an architect through a non-traditional career path? HOW DARE YOU!?

Apr 22, 21 2:24 pm  · 
2  · 
crisprods

Haha, tbh. We gotta spend so much time becoming architects that I do not blame people for feeling bitter when others seek shorter or less traditional routes.

Apr 23, 21 1:17 pm  · 
1  · 
tduds

You might get lucky here, but I should warn you this forum isn't the best avenue for what you're looking for. Happy to help point you in the right direction, though.

I'm not sure where in the country you are, but I'd suggest reaching out to someone at your local (city or state) AIA office, or an AIAS org at a nearby university if one exists near you. Most have emerging professional groups that meet regularly. If not, maybe they have occasional socials or a design lecture series.

The point is, get involved with your local architecture community and try to meet some people in real life with the eventual goal of an informal-then-formal mentorship. It's going to take some of your time and some of your bandwidth, but then again it should. 

Apr 22, 21 2:35 pm  · 
4  ·