Archinect
anchor

Doubts

arch7393

Hey all! 

This may come off as a downer for a post but I'd just love some honest insight from all of you so I can make a more sound decision and gain some clarity.

I pursued my B.Arch in 2012 and I couldn't finish it because I had financial trouble and also had personal issues. I felt guilty to pursue it because I lost my confidence and thought I'd fail or something so it seemed like the financially most practical solution. I graduated with an Interior Design degree and graduated much earlier with good grades. 

Fast forward to trying to land a job, it was hard. I got short lived experience as an Interior designer and then became a designer for two years at a furniture company. It definitely felt like I was not doing what I really wanted. I still wanted to do architecture.

Now I'm looking at graduate programs but I worry about the job market, my own capabilities and most of all, never getting my big break. So far, it hasn't been the case, i've never had the opportunity of working with a big firm. From there, I do plan to grow further and possibly go into research. But I feel I haven't got my break till now. I'm 27. I hope I don't sound whiny or annoying. I understand the world is going through a lot right now and some of you might be facing problems as well. This is coming from a place of doubt and fear. Masters is not cheap. I just wonder if I'm not cut out for another jab at this and pursue what I like.

Please share your stories and journeys as well. I'd love to hear it.

Mar 29, 21 11:13 am
archanonymous

I did a 5-year M.Arch (no longer offered) graduating in 2010. It was a dark time in the arch market. 

I worked at a place very much like your furniture design company for 3.5 years. While there I busted my ass, not only on professional projects, but growing my skills, mastering software, and doing competition and independent work to bolster my portfolio.