Archinect
anchor

Applicaiton plagiarism. Any chance to report?

caaaaaat

Hi everyone. 

I  just got accepted to the MLA in UPenn, and I found out that my ex-coworker, who plagiarized my project and put it into his own portfolio, got into the same program.

The story goes like this:

I initially chose to collaborate with him and another girl to make one project that we all intended to use for application, however, this man refused to make any valuable output during the whole process. The final result does not contain any of his efforts. So I and another group member both agree that his terrible work did not deserve sharing the final results, and we refused to give him any of our achievements.

Somehow, he simply copied the draft images(very close to the final result) from the group chat and pasted these into his own portfolio, calling them "his work".

This is my first time facing such scurviness plagiarization, I really want to report this to the admission committee, but I am not sure how to prove that he did not participate enough and the fact he stole. I also worry about how would UPenn deal with this kind of situation, because I don't want to face any retribution or safety problems if I still have to be on the same campus with him.

Please give me some advice.

Much appreciated!

Mar 15, 21 10:34 am
archanonymous

If I were you, I would just chalk it up to a valuable lesson learned and keep it to yourself. You are in school - just focus on your studies, do your best, and then distinguish yourself in your future career. 

Nobody really cares otherwise, and there's so many shades of grey in group projects that it isn't an open-and-closed case of plagiarism. Just move on with your life.

Mar 15, 21 10:38 am  · 
5  · 
caaaaaat

Completely learned that nobody actually cares about these drama. You are right, it’s better to focus on myself.

Mar 16, 21 8:22 am  · 
1  · 

Agree with this - it will show when you all start next semester. Wouldn’t worry about it so much.