Archinect
anchor

Career Path

whitneydabere

Hi there, I am a high school student and I have been contemplating my path to become an architect and I was wondering if I could get some advice. So my initial plan is to get my Bachelors in Architectural Science and work towards getting my license from there. My second plan is to get a degree in civil engineering and then take the two year course with the RAIC to get my architecture license. The only thing is that I am not sure which path to take because, if I can get into a good architecture school with a co-op program then I would be able to gain experience in the field and become an expert at what I do. On the other hand, if I get my civil engineering degree then I have a wider range of career options. However, I am unsure of if when applying to an architecture firm, whether an employer would be looking someone with range or expertise. Also if the job as an architect falls out for me, I would have civil engineer as a back up. BUT the biggest thing for me is that I am not someone who is GREAT at physics and chemistry (my marks for them were in the 80s this year) -- also from my experience with the architecture course at my school, I have a deeper interest in becoming an architect as opposed to an engineer. What ever advice you can give on this subject (including the work environment, job availability, salary, and the licensing process of an architect) would be very helpful

Mar 9, 21 6:32 pm
Non Sequitur

RAIC = Canada? If so, I’ve already covered this many times, as well as a few others, in the forum. 

Mar 9, 21 6:57 pm  · 
 · 
midlander