Archinect
anchor

Job Interview Help: 20 years experience

ssimon82

I have been at my most recent job for almost 10 years and I have almost 20 years of work experience. After a decade, it's time for me to move on and look for a new job.

The problem is that it's been so long since I've had a job interview I have almost no idea what a person at my level of experience is expected to bring to an interview in terms of a portfolio.

The last time I went on a job interview I brought along a portfolio that had "tear-sheets" of projects from the office that I had worked on, a couple of half-size CD sets of projects so I could show which sheets I worked on to show my drafting skills, and even some projects and hand sketches from college.

I don't think much of that is appropriate. At my level of experience, I'm a project manager mostly, I might do crude sketches of details to explain something to someone on my team but more likely I'm red-lining drawings, preparing schedules, reviewing project budgets, staffing requirements, etc.

I thought I would bring tear-sheets from major projects that I have worked on over the years. Some copies of some analytic spreadsheets that I've done and maybe a couple of diagrams, plans, or details that I've done that explain some intricacies of some projects.

Am I on the right track? What else would you expect to see from a candidate? What have you brought to your own interviews?

I appreciate any thoughts you might have.

Feb 6, 21 3:50 am
thisisnotmyname

I think you are on the right track.  The tear sheets are good to orient the interviewers with the types, scales, and quality level of buildings you have worked on.   The other stuff should be things you conceived or produced that visually support and exemplify your ability to fulfill the needs identified in the description of the position you are seeking.  

Feb 6, 21 11:56 am  · 
 · 
your conscience

don't forget these:

Image result for brass balls glengarry

Feb 12, 21 4:02 am  · 
 ·